PrintPrint Close Close

Republic of Cyprus
Chairman and Members

Demetris Georgiades holds a university degree B.Sc. (Econ) in Accounting and Finance from the London School of Economics and Political Sciences, Member (Fellow) of the Institute of Chartered Accountant in England and Wales (as from 1993) and of the Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Cyprus. He worked and trained with Moore Stephens Chartered Accountants in London (1990-1993) and then moved and worked with Moore Stephens Limassol (1993-1995). Between 1995-1998 he held the position of Finance Director and Internal Auditor in a shipping group with Offices in Cyprus, Monaco, Manila, Mumbai, London and Piraeus. From 1998 to 2014 he held the position of Finance Director /Columnist / Analyst/ Journalist in the daily newspaper “Politis”. He is a founding member of the Non Government Organisation, “Transparency International – Cyprus”.
Demetris Georgiades has been appointed as Chairman of the Fiscal Council from 10.6.2014 for a period of six (6) years with annual earnings of 68.500 euros.

Alkis Loizides is cofounder of Global Capital Ltd, a financial services company, and Chief Executive Officer of the Cyprus Investment Firm Global Capital Securities and Financial Services Ltd. Prior to his current position he held a number of key positions in Cyprus’ financial institutions in the areas of Treasury Services, Risk Management, Planning & Research, Private Banking and Capital Markets. He has advised a number of the Cypriot and Greek corporate entities in the areas of corporate finance. He sponsored the establishment of a number of Cyprus-registered investment thematic investment funds. He graduated top of his Class with score 20/20 from his high school where he also earned the Prize for Best School Academic Performance. In 1984 he was awarded a Full CASP Scholarship by USAID. He holds degrees from Harvard University (B.A. Magna Cum Laude in Economics), Cambridge University (M. Phil. in Finance with Distinction), Stanford University Graduate School of Business (M.B.A) and University of Manchester (B.Sc. in Financial Services). He was elected member of Phi Beta Kappa (ΦΒΚ) in recognition of “high attainment in liberal arts” and awarded the John Harvard Scholarship for academic achievement of the highest distinction for the years 1986, 1987 and 1988. He was named Arjay Miller Scholar by the Stanford Business School. He is an Associate of the Chartered Institute of Bankers and since 1995 has been an academic associate of the University of Cyprus in the Public and Business Administration Department. In 2013 he was invited by CIIM to teach a new course on the Financing of New Ventures. As of June 2014 he has been appointed by the Council of Ministers Member of the newly instituted Cyprus Fiscal Council.

The two members of the Fiscal Council do not receive any fixed salary and are remunerated on horarium, as determined by the Council of Ministers. The current rate is 50,83 euro per Council meeting. The Council usually meets once a month.

© 2013 - 2021 Republic of Cyprus,
Fiscal Council